Categories
Uncategorized

Renovations: The First Story

The PDF linked to below contains my novella “Renovations” as it originally appeared in Weird Tales magazine (Jan/Feb, 2008) under the editorial eye of the legendary Ann VanderMeer and with the evocative art of Daniele Serra. This was my first sale and I feel incredibly lucky that this piece found such a home, as well as a kind reception. It’s a haunted house story from an odd perspective: that of the house itself. I hope you find a place in it. I’m currently writing the sequel, “Reconstruction.” This story was published under a Creative Commons agreement, so please feel free to save it or share it.

renovations

Matthew Pridham

weirdt

 

By Matthew Pridham

I write horror stories as well as film and book reviews. I've been published in Weird Tales Magazine, Tor.com, weirdfictionreview.com, and thethoughterotic.com. My primary interests are modernist fiction, world domination, the horror genre (classic, avant-garde, modern), polyamory, and philosophy of every stripe. Favorite authors include (but are far from limited) to Marcel Proust, Ramsey Campbell, Martin Amis, Thomas Ligotti, Ruth Rendell, Vladimir Nabokov, Jorge Luis Borges, and Clive Barker. I grew up in Bergen, Norway as well as Albuquerque, New Mexico, and I've attended the University of New Mexico and CU Boulder.

Leave a comment